What’s In My Travel Bag?

25 thoughts on “What’s In My Travel Bag?”

  1. Ruhi, I think we might be soulmates. Reading that first paragraph especially, I can so identify! Packing my skincare for a trip is such a production! I’ve got a pretty good system now, actually, of decanting things and using little samples, like you. And I buy the travel/sample size of body products and refill from the full size as well, like with Rahua. Love Rahua. 🙂

    For cleansing, I stick with bar soaps, though, which are great for travel. I love Chagrin Valley and Osmia for this (and of course I have my Osmia rose clay facial soap with me always :)). I always have a facial/body oil (sometimes they are the same, if I’m being really conservative!), and toner/floral water and SPF moisturizer (Badger- I really stick to my usual stuff haha!). I agree though that floral waters aren’t enough for the dry air while traveling. I always thought that Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence might be good for this, but I’ve yet to try it. I’ll likely sooner try the Andalou Naturals rose toner- I use it every time I walk into the health food store!

    Anyway, won’t rant on too much, but just wanted to say also that I’m very excited for your Mun review! I’ve been thinking that might be my next facial oil purchase. (Though of course, I’ve got a list, and don’t know if the Mun will beat out Living Libations and Yuli!)

    Are the Kypris serums oil based??? Hope you’re having a great weekend!!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Silvy,

      Oooh you have no idea how good it is to know that I’m not the only insane person out there (and I mean this in the nicest way possible, of course!). Haha 🙂 Yes, like you, I’ve started collecting the small travel sized pots and bottles – they come into handy so often, even when I want to decant a small foil packet. Do you do that too?

      Your idea of traveling with bar soaps is amazing – I try to travel with one for my body, but yet to do the same for my face 🙂 Definitely going to do that in the summer once I break open the Osmia Black Clay Cleanser 🙂 Do you use it on your body too? Great idea about using the same oil on both body and face – I think Argan Oil might work wonderfully for this, and even the Dr. Alkaitis oil – they advertise it as a multi purpose oil too. I was just too nervous to put it on my face. It smells so delightful though! Think you might like it very much.

      I’ve tried samples of TH Hydrating Floral Essence, and do want to buy a full size some time – it’s just so expensive for someone like me who’s so heavy handed with mists 😦 It is Aloe Vera based if I remember correctly…the consistency is quite watery actually…not sure if it would be sufficient for in flight cabin air. The Tatcha Mist is definitely the thickest and most moisturizing I’ve ever come across. And they sell a cute 15 ml bottle too (with free shipping!).

      Will definitely do a review on MUN in the next month or so – I really want to finish up this bottle. It got relegated to the bottom of my drawer since I moved on to other oils (Yuli, Kypris Beauty etc), but it’s just so soothing and gentle for traveling. Your list is super lovely 🙂 Cannot wait to see what you pick up next! I’m yet to try anything from Living Libations – Will look for your recommendations!

      The Kypris serums are water based, and extremely light in texture. Easily to layer under or even WITH the face oil (Chase Polan recommends doing a micro emulsion – mix all the serums and the face oil at once and apply…it’s super easy and makes you feel a little bit like a mad scientist actually 😉

      It’s 86F here and I’m loving the sunny weather! Going to try and go for a long walk with my little fur baby. Hope you’re having a relaxing day 🙂

      Much love,
      Ruhi xx

      Like

      1. Yes, I do decant from the small foil packets! I did this with the Tata Harper Rejuvenating Serum after collecting samples for a while, and then was able to use my little pot for over a month! I enjoy our insanity. 😉

        I am absolutely so excited to try out Living Libations. I have so much trouble prioritizing, though, now that I only buy things once a month (or less), and have a money limit for myself too. I go back and forth, and I know that I’ll need to restock on some essentials as well. So we’ll see.

        And now the Kypris… I was looking for a water-based serum for summertime use and now I won’t be able to choose one of the four on my list either! Sigh. It’ll be a tough call: Sanitas, Osmia, Kypris, or Arcona!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW! I’m amazed by your details and thoroughness! I’ve already been eying everything in your skincare stash so CANNOT wait for the Kypris, Mun No. 1 and Odacite PA + G reviews!!! Glad to hear that Jo + L serum works – that was the one recommended to me at Cap Beauty. Odacite has so many serums – I’m so confused as to which to try. I leave for my vacation next week and am so inspired by this! I will be gone for 3.5 weeks and gong to several cities so on one hand, I really want to be diligent but on the other, I can’t be bothered. How do you mange to be so dedicated to your routine while away and busy?

    Like

    1. Hi Pauline,

      Thank you so much. Very pleased to know you found this post useful. Yes, truly understand what a pain it is to pack! 😦 I usually start sorting these about 4-5 days before I’m scheduled to fly. Packing my skincare and other beauty items is a huge source of anxiety for me, and part of the reason why I wrote this post is because I can use the pics as reference the next time I fly, and hopefully, it will be much easier. One thing that helps me stick to the routine is making sure this is not the LAST thing I do for the day – I get it out of the way as soon as I enter the hotel room. Plus, almost every single zit I get leaves behind a scar, and the motivation to avoid that situation keeps me motivated enough. If you don’t have super finicky skin, I am sure you don’t need to carry so many things! My list is definitely a little over the top 😉

      I hope you have a lovely vacation! 🙂 A little jealous here…can’t wait to get away too.

      Much love and hope you’re having a beautiful weekend.

      Regards,
      Ruhi xx

      Like

  3. WOW I just bookmarked this post, so much to go over! I love everything you’re packing and wish I could be so organized. I have not tried the Odacite serums yet, the small sizes made it hard to justify the splurge but maybe one day!

    I splurged on some Kypris but unfortunately despite all the hype didn’t see remarkable performance. I really wanted to like the line but it just wasn’t as amazing as it was claimed to be, but their founder Chase can sell paper to a tree!

    Like

    1. Hi Jacqueline,

      Such a pretty name! 🙂 I love all things French. Haha. Yes, the Odacite serums are definitely quite expensive, and the cost kept me from purchasing any for a very long time. I’m almost out of the Pa + G serum! They do have deals pretty often though – if you haven’t already, you might want to sign up for their newsletter. They’re giving away a free serum of your choice if you buy any 2 (until EOD today I think).

      So sorry to hear the Kypris didn’t work quite well for you! Which product did you purchase, a little curious? Chase, the founder, does recommend that the oil and the serums be used together as a micro emulsion to get the max use out of the entire system, and I find this to be quite true. Skin is so personal though, it’s hard to tell what might or might not work for someone. Hope you find something else that works well for you 🙂

      Have a lovely weekend,
      Ruhi xx

      Like

  4. Ruhi, I noticed you have all 3 of the Kypris serums how are they? Do you think they’re very different or can I just buy one? I used their beauty elixir and it broke out my skin really bad so could not use it. Got a sample of the Antioxidant Dew and it reminded me of the Blissoma serum a little bit and the Mad Hippie serum so ended up deciding to just purchase a $30 dupe instead. I know you give very honest reviews so looking forward to reading your review soon!

    Like

    1. Hi Doux Babe!

      I like all the serums, been using all 3 together every single day. I’ll be doing a detailed post in a couple of weeks…I do think the purpose of all 3 is different, but if you were to purchase just one, I’d say definitely go for Moonlight Catalyst. You’ll get very visible results in the shortest period of time imaginable 🙂

      So sorry to hear the Elixir broke you out! That’s so sad… 😦 Maybe try mixing a drop with some other oil to see if that helps? Their face oil is super expensive too. Luckily, the elixir is suiting me quite well, although initially I was very worried about the presence of coconut oil. I’d also suggest reaching out to Chase or Kypris customer care to see if they have any tips for you. They’re super helpful!

      Much love,
      Ruhi

      Like

  5. As always a stellar review. I read each and every line!!! Sorry about you leaving behind the Dewy Skin Mist!!! I would be sulking forever. Love your honesty – you carried the ‘dirty products’. I liked the idea of the Tatcha cleansing oil (to not carry washcloths….noted this for future). Love the idea about clean feet wipes…noted that also.Hate baths …always prefer shower! All the facial oils and serums are on my wish list…. You are an enabler, you know that! I smiled when i saw Pukka. My husband and I are lulled to sleep when every single time we drink the Nigh-time Pukka. Gorgeous recommendation from a gorgeous gal !! You do know, i am going to be going over this page over and and over again 🙂 I loved each picture because it was exactly how i would pack my skincare. I may have a travel bag blog post coming soon. It wont be choc a bloc as yours but it would definitely have a Pukka. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Swapna,

      Aww thank you so much sweetheart. Yeah, I was so upset at the airport, you have no idea (or actually…maybe you do lol)! I considered going back to the hotel to grab it, but the thought of going through security again put me off. Haha. Similar to you, I’m not much of a bath person actually. The tub has to be spotless before I’ll do one, but these past couple of weeks, really liking the occasional baths!

      The Pukka tea really helped me stay calm! 🙂 Gotta have some luxury while traveling, right? Can’t wait to read about your Pukka tea haul and travel tips! I’m so stoked your household is a tea convert now.

      Hope you’re having a gorgeous weekend!

      Much love,
      Ruhi xx

      Like

  6. Thanks for the detailed post! I also carry my precious glass bottles in my carry-on and I’m that lady who always has more than 1 “liquids baggie”. I’m impressed at how much you carry especially for your hair and body. I used to decant product into small bottles, but now I’ve become obsessed with travel kits instead. The Tatcha travel kit is something I’ve repurchased quite a bit and I also use multitasking products like Kahina Argan Oil for both my face and hair and Goe Oil as an overall moisturizer. I admit, sometimes I test out new skincare products while traveling. My rationale? If it can handle my crazy travel skin, it’s a keeper!

    Like

    1. Hi Lana!

      Thanks so much for reading. 🙂 Question – is there any trick on carrying more than 1 liquids baggie? When I travel with my husband, I’ll make 2 and hand him the other one. Hahaha. I’m with you on the Tatcha travel kits – Love them! I’ve bought so many in the past couple of years 🙂 Totally love your idea of multi tasking with the Argan Oil. Believe it or not, I’m yet to try plain Argan Oil on my face. Heard so much about Goe Oil – good to know it receives another thumbs up from you. Might have to pick it up 🙂

      Oooh, you really put your products through test, don’t you? Haha. 🙂 I think I’m the other way – if I’m convinced that the product works okay overall, only then I’ll risk carrying them with me. I’m just too nervous about going through skincare meltdowns during travel.

      Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

      Regards,
      Ruhi xx

      Like

  7. OMG Ruhi, you packed this how many time in a month? Wow, amazing post beauty! I’m like you.. haha, skincare and accessories take a lot of time to decide.. I don’t want to take too much with me, but i don’t want to forgot something.. A story that make me crazy! A chance i don’t leave very often 🙂 You made this post in time because i need to pack soon.. I will open my laptop at this page and look at your picture, so that way i can’t forgot something hahaha !
    Julie xx

    Like

    1. Hi Julie, Hihi maybe once every couple of months. I’d go crazy if I were to repeat this process X number of times every month. 😉 Yes, it’s so hard to strike a balance when it comes to packing our beauty items. I hope you have a lovely time in Hawaii! So glad you found this post helpful.

      Ruhi xx

      Like

  8. I’m actually going to be traveling soon as well, so this was interesting for me. I would love to try Josh Rosebrook, Tata Harper, Kypris, and Odacité. For the Jo+L, I haven’t picked it up because of the lack of reviews. I’d love to know more of your thoughts on it!

    Like

    1. Hi! The Jo+L sample was good enough for about 4 uses. I’m out of it now…definitely liked it a lot, just a little hesitant to purchase the full size because it’s a simple DIY. But it was very effective for me personally.

      Like

      1. Hmm, maybe in the future….I am on a no buy now and making do with my Lavender EO 🙂 Plus have many other full size Odacite Serums to use up first.

        Like

  9. Ruhi, that KYPRIS collection! ❤
    Thank you so much for another detailed roundup! I really didn’t think twice the last time I washed my face on the plane with dirty water. Although I also wash it every 12 or so hours, I’m really glad I got the bottled water idea now! That Odacite oil is intriguing! It sounds like you’ve really got your travel routine down pat! Why have I never thought of clean feet wipes!?! They must be so convenient! Hopefully there is a cleaner option elsewhere! It was so much fun taking a peek into your travel regimen! Hope you have/had a good time even though it was work related!

    Much love, Vanessa

    Like

    1. Hi dear Vanessa,

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment. I used to rinse with toilet water too, but then read some random posts on a website advising against it! I do have the travel routine figured out for the most part, but packing is still not fun :\

      I am sure there are many clean options available for Clean Feet – I just got lazy and didn’t look at the ingredients when I bought these. You could use the wipes from Blum Naturals (think they have good ones w/ Tea Tree and Peppermint).

      Love always, Ruhi xx

      Like

      1. Love this travel round-up, looks like you have everything planned to a T! When I travel I tend to want to pack light (due to past lessons of excess baggage arghhh), so I usually go for multi-purpose products and use same skincare for day and night. I also keep makeup to a minimum coz I really can’t be bothered, lol.

        I have a sample of Very Vivacious and I’d say it doesn’t look as good on me as Very Charming. And, how freaking adorable are those JI samples!?

        Like

      2. Ah, yes! I can live in one pair of jeans, but I have to have my full stash of skincare products 🙂

        The Jo+L sample was super cute! These samples are a huge source of temptation, Ru. xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

